Log in



May 19-June 5, 2022


The artists in Breakthrough PLUS 2022

Silvia Tagusagawa
Sami Tsang
Arlene Kushnir
Taeyouk Yeo
Joon Hee Kim
Kathy Kranias
Stephen Hawes
Keith Campbell
Michael James Polubiec
Lisa Gwen Robbins
Nurielle Stern
Victoria Guy
Debra Sloan
Jocelyn Jenkins
Zara Gardner
Marlene Kawalez

Alyson Chasse
Alison Brannen
Alana Marcoccia
Carol Grant
Catharina Goldnau
Dana Dallal
Monica Rosenthal
Francis Muscat
Gabriela Wilson
Jacquie Blondin
Jason Schiedel
Karen Franzen
Lynn Glover
Lesley McInally
Danielle Skentzos
Salina Szechtman


Leslie Grove Gallery

1158 Queen St East, Toronto  


Gagné Contemporary Gallery

136 Brooklyn Ave., Toronto

FUSION received a record number of submissions for Breakthrough PLUS 2022. Featuring work by students, emerging and established clay and glass artists, juror John Gagné selected pieces to be exhibited at Gagné Contemporary and Leslie Grove Gallery in Toronto's Leslieville neighbourhood. Both galleries are within 10 minutes of each other and we encourage those who visit Breakthrough PLUS to hop between both gallery locations.

"It’s an honor to have been asked to jury the show this year. I found looking at the entries for the first time VERY exciting – the impressions and vitality and surprises are fresh! Particularly this year, after so many of us have been under wraps for too long, the exuberance and material force of many of the pieces are so gratifying. As are the quieter, gentler works. There’s a notion that society gets the art it deserves. I believe that’s true here in the best sense. The work in Breakthrough PLUS 2022 feels necessary." -  John Gagné, Juror


Awards were given to clay and glass artists: 

Tucker's Pottery Supply Best in Clay: $500 Gift Certificate - ALANA MARCOCCIA

Pottery Supply House Best in Glass: $500 Gift Certificate - FRANCIS MUSCAT

Best in Show for Established Artists: $500 - LESLEY MCINALLY

Best in Show for Emerging Artists: $250 - TAEYOUK YEO

Craft Ontario Affiliate Award: 1 year Craft Ontario Professional Membership - CAROL GRANT

FUSION Membership: 1 year Individual Membership - SILVIA TAGUSAGAWA

  John Gagné, Juror

Gagné Contemporary works with artists across Toronto, Canada and New York City, USA. Part of an art advisory that includes gallery shows, studio visits, artist representation and a curatorial practice.

What began in NYC as a side hustle – leading art walks through Lower East Side and Chelsea galleries, volunteering with Brooklyn arts organizations, conducting studio visits with artists and collectors – soon became THE hustle and a fully viable business. Warmly embraced by the arts community, I began curating exhibitions in Brooklyn and Manhattan.

Returning to Toronto in 2020, I established Gagné Contemporary in a former stable in the Leslieville neighbourhood where I’ve been presenting solo and group shows. I also manage two websites that allow me to sell and ship artwork internationally, as well as support the gallery shows.


FUSION was pleased to host our inaugural emerging artist exhibition: BREAKTHROUGH in June, 2018.  We were astounded by the response from our call for entry. Forty eight artists from across Canada submitted 126 pieces for consideration. All are either currently students, or within five years if their training.

The result was an exhibition from 28 artists that was vibrant, varied and engaging. The exhibition was a wonderful survey of sculptural and functional work from the next generation of glass and clay artists. Using a multitude of materials and construction methods within their respective disciplines, these artists are breaking new ground.

Congratulations to all the past participating Breakthrough artists and these award winners: 

 Best in Show: Daumante Stirbyte

 Best in Glass: Jennifer Glasser

Best in Clay: Joon Hee Kim

Craft Ontario Affiliate Award: Zara Gardner

2018 Participating Artists: 

Amber Zuber
Annabel Biro
Annika Hoefs
Catharina Goldnau
Ciro  Di Ruocco
Daumante Stirbyte
Denise Smith
Emily Schneider
Evan Morris
Evan Wasse
Frieda Pereira
Gayle  Buzzi
Hannah Pruder
Heidi McKenzie
James Kemp
Jane Garcia
Jennifer Glasser
Joon Hee Kim
Jordan Scott
Karla Rivera
Layne Verbeek
Reid Ferguson
Kim Ross
Samantha  Tsang
Sasha Bateman
Teresa Dunlop
Thomas Haskell
Zara  Gardner

For more information on this exhibition, please read The FUSION Magazine feature The New Materiality FUSIONs Inaugural Breakthrough Exhibition written by Leslie Menagh.

FUSION thanks Tucker's Pottery Supply for their continued support and Sponsorship.

FUSION is a registered charitable, not-for-profit organization. © 2022-2023 FUSION Ontario Clay and Glass Association. Charitable Registration Number: 122093826 RR0001 All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions

FUSION acknowledges funding support from the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the Government of Ontario. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software